Tuesday, May 29, 2007

Haven't We Rocked Out Enough?

Is it just me, or does it seem like there's a new Guitar Hero announcement every other week? Who knew that all it took to take over the video game industry was a cheap plastic guitar. Well, actually, I guess it takes three cheap plastic guitars.

We knew that Guitar Hero 3 would be making its way to your next gen console of choice before the holiday shopping season began, but now we have a few more details. First up, wireless controllers have been confirmed for the big three - the PS3, 360, and Wii. Honestly, I'm surprised about the announcement for the 360, but pleasantly. And for those of you still rocking the old school PS2, some good news - your existing controller will work with the new game.

Next up is a partial track list for the game. Here's what has been confirmed so far:
  • Paint It Black (The Rolling Stones)
  • Cherub Rock (Smashing Pumpkins)
  • Sabotage (Beastie Boys)
  • The Metal (Tenacious D)
  • My Name is Jonas (Weezer)
  • Knights of Cydonia (Muse)
  • Rock And Roll All Nite (Kiss)
  • School’s Out (Alice Cooper)
  • Slow Ride (Fog Hat)
  • Cult of Personality (Living Colour)
  • Barracuda (Heart)

There are definitely some great bands listed above, but many of the songs are just...meh. I'm sure the best is yet to come, buy still, the best Weezer song they could come up with was My Name Is Jonas?

What do you guys think of the song list? Is this just the first bomb RO will be dropping, or is the franchise starting to lose the fire?

No comments: